6 Comments
Jan 10, 2021Liked by Kathy Roberts Forde

Violent insurrections historically often begin with almost comically ragtag efforts: e.g., Castro, the Beer Hall Putsch. Some eventually succeed, some go nowhere (e.g., the attack by Francoists on the Spanish Parliament in the early 1980s). (I'll leave it to better historians than I to categorize John Brown at Harper's Ferry.) But my point is that I hope that journalists and law enforcement alike approach this as a broad movement with anti-democratic intent, and see the problem as snuffing out possibilities before they get one inch further down the road.

Expand full comment
Jan 10, 2021Liked by Kathy Roberts Forde

There are reports of additional coordinated activity around inauguration day (e.g., https://twitter.com/hungrybowtie/status/1348007779064139776). I'm very hopeful that these things will be investigated thoroughly prior to January 20th. Bellingcat specializes in just the sort of online muckraking necessary for something like this, so I'm hopeful they'll take it up.

Expand full comment
author

I hope folk are investigating whether Trump campaign allies/cut-outs communicated directly with any of the extremist/Qanon/fringe leaders.

Expand full comment